Somatic Squats

Properly executed squats are one of the most useful movements you could do on a daily basis. Having the ability to squat down to the ground uses all the muscles of the core in a coordinated movement that is a catch-all exercise of strengthening.

Despite the emphasis on core strengthening anddeep-squat the finer points of how to squat properly I’ve seen a tendency in many athletes toward habituating the Green Light Reflex. This means that the muscles of the back of the body (the “posterior chain”) – become tight and stay tight. If the back of the body is tight, the front of the body, and especially the hip flexors, co-contract. It’s a full body pattern response to stress.

There is a need for a different kind of squat, done as more of a somatic release – after a training session of vigorous athletic squats. The “laundry squat,” also known as a “frog squat” is a simple squat that, when done fluidly and effortlessly, allows for coordination and communication between all of the sinawsouqjoints, from the neck and mid-back all the way down to the knees, ankles, and rounded pelvis. There should be an easy, coordinated “distribution of labor” that feels utterly natural and effortless to do.

Most Westerners don’t squat in our daily lives, so if you don’t want to lose the ability to bend the knees, hips and ankles to get up and down, there’s no time like the present to begin bringing this quintessentially human movement back into your life.

Try this “Somatic Squat” for improved flexibility when squatting.

The “laundry squat” is simple: you sink straight down to the ground, the tailbone drops, the backCave - India 2 lengthens, the pelvis gently rounds under a bit and the weight  settles on the heels and the mid-foot. The upper body is slightly forward. It’s the preferred squat of millions of people in Asia and Africa. And of me, when I’m in a cave in India (at right).

I understand that many people are afraid to squat; perhaps they’ve had knee surgery, hip problems, an accident or injury. Any kind of injury, as you already know if you’ve been following this blog, has the potential to create Sensory Motor Amnesia in the brain/muscle connection. This means that you lose an accurate sense of how you move your body and where it is in space. Perhaps squatting is scary because you’ve lost the connection between the feet, ankles, knees, hips, and back.

Whatever your fear, I invite you to begin to explore this important and basic human movement. View the short video below for a fun exploration that can begin to create more awareness and freedom through the shoulders, back, and hips. By exploring and differentiating the twisting of the shoulders and hips, and gently increasing movement in the ribcage, you might find that the front movement of squatting becomes a little easier. This exploration is also useful for anyone with scoliosis whose ribcage feels more compressed on one side. I enjoyed making the video – and yes, it helped me squat more smoothly and effortlessly.

This “laundry squat” exploration is taken from the book Mindful Spontaneity by Ruthy Alon. Enjoy it and let me know how it works for you.

17 thoughts on “Somatic Squats

  1. What a lovely gentle exercise Martha. I have always been a fan of the squat as a gentle stretch after visiting Asia and noticing how many people seem so relaxed in that pose! I will definitely be recommending this to my clients.
    Thank you, Sheena

    • Thanks so much, Sheena. Yes, squatting is a medicine. I, too, rediscovered squatting while visiting Asia. I think it’s a movement that needs to somehow be re-incorporated into many Western cultures. Thanks for reading!

      Martha

  2. Pingback: Somatic Squats « MEJORA

    • You can do both. Squat slowly up and down, just to get the movement fluid and comfortable. Then squat, hold it for a bit (and pretend you’re doing laundry or some other activity!), and then come on back up. Be mindful of symmetry in your weight bearing so you come out of the squat using both legs and not with the weight more shifted onto one leg (as many people do who have had a trauma/accident).

      Thanks for the question!

    • If the heels come off the floor mid-way down, it’s a good indication of the fact that you’ve got muscles tight when they don’t need to be – namely the calves, hamstrings, gluts and back muscles. The goal is to be able to squat all the way down without the heels coming off the floor…

  3. Another exercise to add to my list. I received your book, video and audio just two days ago. The morning after one hour of going through your video my back pain was reduced by 80% on waking and allowed me pain free walking for the first 50 minutes of my day and 10 minutes of my daily walk – well I can’t expect it to just disappear after one one hour session can I? This morning I got 25 minutes around my walk before the pain kicked in but now after being up for nearly three hours the pain is at about 50% of what it was before using your methods.

    I actually bought your material because I have little hip abduction after an accident 16 years ago – I can’t stand with feet more than about half a metre apart, despite the orthopedic surgeon saying there is no reason for it. Your approach makes much more sense than my physiotherapists’ ways of doing things – 15 years of physio from 20 different therapists in two countries couldn’t make an improvement. And Pilates didn’t help either. So I have high hopes that with disciplined practice I might get some more mobility. With it helping my back pain so quickly something must be happening.

    • What a wonderful testimonial not only to the effect Somatic Exercises can have on the way in which you feel and sense your muscles (so that you can truly release them for comfort and improved movement) – but also to your own decision to take responsibility for changing what’s going on with your body.

      The reason YOU created improvement where physios, Pilates and surgeons couldn’t is the point Thomas Hanna set out to teach people: only you can change what your muscles are doing. Only through sensing and experiencing your body with new feedback can you create new movement.

      You will improve slowly, but surely. Thomas Hanna said that it takes a couple of weeks for the brain to truly integrate the changes you are incorporating. Be patient and persistent and apply what you’re learning to your daily movements – standing, reaching, sitting, reacting emotionally, computer work, etc etc. You’ll continue your progress in increments. Somatic awareness is a PROCESS…not a goal…and it will continue, you’ll improve upon it daily and the “goal” is physical freedom.

      All the best,
      Martha

  4. I have to thank you. This simple movement has helped me greatly. My squat and my running both feel so much better. I’ve been incorporating some of your movements for the past year — but this one really hit the spot! Thank you so much for sharing.

  5. I’m currently experiencing intermittent mild/moderate knee pain, on the outside of my knee. Is there anything I can do to ‘approach’ the squat exercise without further hurting my knee, or should I wait till all the pain is gone?

    • Hi Joyce,

      I would recommend going “back to the basics” and learning Somatic Exercises that will release the tight muscles of the back and waist. If the outside of ONE knee is moderately painful I’ll bet you have a slightly out of balance pelvis (an habituated “trauma reflex” – tighter muscles on one side of the waist than the other), which will cause you to unconsciously put more pressure on one knee. If you’re sure whether or not your hips and pelvis are not aligned, look in the mirror and see what’s there. Improper weight bearing simply signals a lack of conscious muscle control, which is what Hanna Somatics can teach you to retrieve quite quickly and easily.

      Before you squat release and relax the center of the body and your squat will be easier, more coordinated and more efficient. The Somatic Exercises that can help you get to that point are on my website right here.

      Best to you,
      Martha

Leave a comment