Lengthening Hamstrings for Knee Pain Relief

“I’ve been going to physical therapy for a month and my knee still won’t straighten.”

This is what “Sam” said when he came to my Releasing Legs and Hip Joints Workshop this past weekend. He’d had back pain and chronic left knee pain for years, and his doctors told him that a full knee replacement was his only option. He’s had several knee surgeries from playing squash and completed months of physical therapy – his therapists pushing down on his knee passively in a futile attempt to straighten his painful knee.  But the knee remained slightly bent, and he continued to limp slightly on an unstable knee.

During the workshop Sam discovered that although his LEFT knee hurt and couldn’t straighten, he could easily move his left hip and back. It was his RIGHT hip and waist muscles that were “frozen” and could barely move. This undoubtedly had something to do with his knee pain. Tightness on one side of the body is indicative of the Trauma Reflex, causes an imbalance in the large muscle groups in the center of the body, creating an imbalance in the pelvis and changing one’s gait. This adversely affects the hips, knees and feet.

Straightening a bent knee requires relaxed hamstrings. 

Sam’s back felt great after the workshop, but his knee still wouldn’t bend. I told him that when the hamstrings bend the knee (flexion), the quadriceps (thigh muscles) should relax and lengthen to allow the movement to occur (extension). When the quadriceps contract to straighten the leg and knee, the hamstrings must relax and lengthen to aid in the movement. This is how muscles work together in a synergistic manner.

If the hamstrings are habitually contracted, and won’t relax, the knee can’t move through its full range to straighten completely. Those tight muscles, which attach into the joint, create pressure and restriction in the joint, thus causing pain. The solution?

PANDICULATE the hamstrings to their full length for easier movement of the knee joint.

Pandiculation: A deliberate contraction of a muscle tighter than the muscle’s present contraction rate “wakes up” the nervous system, gives maximum sensory feedback to the brain, and allows the brain to give new motor output, thus re-setting the muscle’s length.

I had Sam lie face down on my table, and do the following:

  1. He bent his left knee to 90 degrees, and I put my hand at his heel. I asked him to pull his heel back to his buttocks, and into my hand. Interestingly, he couldn’t seem to contract the hamstrings! This was a sign of Sensory Motor Amnesia, which means that his muscles weren’t fully under his brain’s control. They were “asleep,” “amnesic,” not moving.  I gently tapped the muscles, and asked him to do it again. This time he was able to feel the muscles, and contract them more deliberately, thus overriding the contraction that his hamstrings were already stuck in.
  2. Sam then slowly lengthened, then completely relaxed his hamstrings. We repeated this series of movements several times. Then I had him contract his quadriceps muscles firmly, pushing down into my table so he could feel how the hamstrings relaxed when his thigh tightened. He was beginning to get the hamstrings and quadriceps to begin coordinating properly again.

This entire process took 10 minutes.

He stood up and was able to straighten his knee. He was ecstatic. I reminded him that now that he’d “woken up” his leg muscles, and begun the process of reversing his knee pain, now it the  time to begin a daily practice of Somatic Exercises to continue his progress. If Sam continues doing the brief, easy Somatic movements he’s learned, he should see most, if not all, functionality returning to his knee – without pain, in about two weeks – the average time it takes for the brain to fully integrate new habits into the muscles and joints.

Take a look at the video below. The first movement is what I did with Sam.

26 thoughts on “Lengthening Hamstrings for Knee Pain Relief

  1. I am having pain in both knees for no reason I can think of. I had no recent injury. I can bend both knees and move them with out pain but I have twinging & throbbing in both knees when I am resting, trying to go to sleep or I am awoke out of a sound sleep with this weird pain in both knees. I have no swelling, clicking or limitations in movement. I read your theory on ham string stretches and I believe your on to something. I had back fusion done on my lower spine bottom 3 about 10 years ago and have been in constant pain ever since. During my recuperation I went to physical therapy and I had a lot of problems with my ham strings being so tight it was pulling my lower spine down and causing me more pain. I was shown a stretch using a belt behind my knee and pulling it to help me get a better stretch. I am going to go try this and will let you know if it helps me. Thank you for reminding me of this issue & remedy.

    • Hi Linda,
      If you had back surgery, your back muscles are undoubtedly tight, which can lead to tight hamstrings and painful knees. If you’re slightly “red light” in your posture – meaning slumped and rounded forward, this will pull on the knees and keep the hamstring locked into constant contraction. The best idea is to being to learn to relax all the muscles in the center of your body so you can better FEEL and then CONTROL the muscles that are causing your pain.

      Rather than doing a passive stretch with a belt, may I offer a variation that I think will work better? It’s on my upcoming DVD, “Somatics for the Athlete.” First learn arch and flatten, which I have visuals for in this blogpost:
      The do the following: while on your back with the belt behind your knee, bend the opposite leg and plant that foot near your buttocks. Now go into the arch gently, tipping the tailbone down – while at the same time contracting the straight leg (the one with the belt behind the knee) DOWN into the belt. You’re engaging the hamstrings. Now SLOWLY flatten your back, and bring the leg toward you, not pulling the leg toward you as much as letting the belt guide you. Repeat this several times: inhale and arch, push the leg DOWN into the belt, contracting the hamstrings, exhale, and SLOWLY flatten the back as you bring the leg toward you along with the belt. Let your buttock come up off the floor if it wants to.
      What you’re doing isn’t stretching the muscle, but pandiculating it. Read up on pandiculation on my blog and you’ll understand how contracting the muscle FIRST, then lengthening it will retrain it to release. I’ll try and make a video tutorial for this for a blog post.
      I would also suggest that you buy my DVD and begin learning the Somatic Exercises that will teach you to get rid of that pain you’ve had ever since your surgery. Depending upon where you live, there might even be a Somatic Educator you could work with – or you can do one on one Skype sessions with me to finally learn how YOU can fix YOURSELF!!

      I hope this helps – best to you,
      Martha

  2. Hi,

    I recently hurt my knee skiing. My MRI scan showed a grade 1 strain of the MCL, no meniscus tear and cartilage is all fine. I cannot fully straighten or bend my knee after 6 weeks. I am doing physio but I do not think it is getting better. Can I use this exercise or do you suggest something else? Or is it too soon?

    Thank you for any reply!

    • Hi Nancy,

      What does your physio say about the fact that after 6 weeks you still don’t have full mobility in your leg/knee? After 6 weeks of physiotherapy and little difference in your leg/knee mobility, I would suspect that there’s something they’re either missing in the way in which they’re working with you, or something that they’re doing with you that’s causing a problem.

      You would have to experiment very gently with the exercise in this post. Just play with it – don’t work hard, but explore your ability to move all the muscles involved. There’s no harm in exploring. I would just ask that you be mindful and aware.

      I had a grade 1 MCL strain several months ago as well. My MD gave me a flexible brace and had me go back to my normal movement routine (I’m a big walker more than anything). I never went to physio and never lost my range of motion. I did my daily Somatics routine so that I wouldn’t compensate in the center of my body in response to the soreness (which was significant for a couple of days). I didn’t want my gait to become altered due to the MCL strain.

      Everyone’s different, and I don’t know the particulars of your skiing accident. However, my question is: what exactly are you doing in your physio sessions? Lots of stretching? Are you doing any kind of lengthening of the quadriceps and hamstrings?

      I’d also ask, “what is going on in the center of your body? Are you tighter on one side of your body than the other (see here – trauma reflex). Do you have one hip “hiked up” a bit higher than the other? These sorts of things can set you up to have an accident, because you’re not as fluid on one side of the body than the other. Even with a trauma (having someone run into you on the ski slopes and knock you over forcefully), you can be left with a slight trauma reflex that will make recovery a bit more time consuming. If the center of the body is tight, especially on one side – the periphery (in this case, your leg/knee) doesn’t move properly.

      Somatic Exercises are helpful for everyone, I find. Hands-on assisted pandiculations of the quadriceps and hamstrings preceded by full body pandiculations of the muscles that work together to move the hip/leg/knee/foot, are highly effective at addressing a problem such as you describe.

      Again – I’d go back to your physio and ask him or her what they think. Why have you not gotten any results. Please let me know what s/he says. Play gently with this hamstring pandiculation and try a few other somatic exercises (from my website and/or blog) in order to address the rest of the body. Let me know how it goes.

      All the best,
      Martha

  3. Hi martha

    i bought your book ‘move without pain’ and see you are coming to London, UK with somatic workshops.

    I messaged you before on here about my hamstrings and Im still having a problem with them. In your book ‘ move without pain’, the exercise ‘touch your toes’ i am having a problem with as i still feel a stretch in my hamstrings when i contract my back muscles in order to rise up and can’t contract my glutes or hamstrings. do you know what i might be doing wrong with this exercise?

    Thank you for your time and I will try and come to a workshop for further benefits.

    Steven Holdaway
    Brighton, UK

    • Hi Steven,

      You pose a good question about the hamstring pandiculation. What would be interesting for you to do is to look in the mirror (sideways/profile) when you do this exercise. When you slowly bend over to go as far as is comfortable towards your toes, are you hinging at the hips? This is key. Look at the photos in my book. I’m hinging at the hips – not rounding my back down. When you hinge and allow your buttocks/hips to move backward, you’re lengthening the back. You have more control of the muscles of the back of the body. If you’re rounding the mid/upper back in an attempt to lengthen down (which many, many people do), then it will be more difficult to contract your gluteus and hamstrings.

      Let me know what happens. It would be great to see you at the London workshops. There are only two slots left in both Saturday and Sunday, so if you’re interested, it’s bets to sign up ASAP. I’ll also be there to do one on one clinical sessions. Let me know if you’d like an appointment.

      Thanks for the question! Martha

  4. Pingback: Lengthening Hamstrings for Knee Pain Relief | Pain Relief Through … | Chronic Back Pain

  5. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic
    to be actually something that I think I would never
    understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  6. Hi

    I have had chronic pain on the inside of my right knee for the last 20 years of my life. I have spent years at physio working on my back, now wear orthotics etc etc.

    The pain is sharp, and very isolated, especially when you push in the specific area, just in the area where my hamstring meets my calf in the soft tissue. I had an arthroscopy a few years ago, but nothing major found, they loosened the tendon, but no relief. MRIs appeared to show a ‘bursitis’ and had cortisone injection with no relief.

    pain is especially bad after sitting for extended periods, and pain is severe when i straighten my leg and begin to walk around. Pain tends to reduce if I have been walking around for a while

    Any suggestions?

    • Hi Ben,
      You would be best served by doing a Skype session with me so I can see you, watch you move and do a proper assessment. It sounds to me as if you’re suffering from an habituated Trauma Reflex which has caused you to use your right leg differently from your left leg.

      Remember that there is always a pattern of muscular tightness in the center of the body that contributed to pain in the periphery. If the muscles of one side of your body are tighter than the other due to an accident or injury, your brain adapts to it and your movement changes.

      You can also purchase my “basic” DVD and Legs and Hips DVD and begin to learn somatic exercises that will help you notice the imbalances in the center of the body so you can begin to eliminate them and regain symmetry and proper muscle control in the waist muscles/legs and hips. The Side Bend and Washrag are particularly useful exercises that can begin to release and relax the muscles of the waist so you can walk in a more balanced way. This will go a long way towards re-patterning the muscles of the quadriceps and hamstrings, which attach into the knee joint and lower leg.

      I hope this helps.

      All the best,
      Martha

  7. Pingback: pain on outside of leg below knee | pregnancy date predictor

  8. Pingback: New Treatment For Knee Arthritis

  9. Pingback: How Much Pain After Knee Surgery

  10. Pingback: Natural Pain Relief For Back Pain

  11. Pingback: Best Exercises For Lower Back Pain Relief

  12. Pingback: Best Pain Relief For Back Pain

  13. Pingback: Best Knee Pain Relief

  14. Pingback: Relieve Back Pain While Pregnant

  15. Pingback: Best Pain Relief For Back Pain Uk

  16. Pingback: Products For Back Pain Relief

  17. Pingback: Pain Relief For A Bad Back

  18. Pingback: Best Thing For Back Pain During Pregnancy

  19. Pingback: Best Exercises For After Knee Surgery

  20. Pingback: Relief For Back Pain Neck Pain

  21. Pingback: 14 Year Old Back Pain

Leave a comment